Royal Grammar School


Team Relativity win national 4x4 title

Team Relativity win national 4x4 title

Team Relativity Development Class winnersIn the very first year of entering the national 4x4 in Schools Challenge, one RGS team has become national champions.

Team Relativity, consisting of five Year 10 students, won the development class competition and also picked up nominations in three other categories.

The Land Rover 4x4 in Schools Challenge sees students from across the country form teams of 3-6 who build a radio controlled 4-wheel drive vehicle to the specifications set. The vehicle must then navigate and complete obstacles on an off-road test track. 

The finals were held at the British Motor Racing Museum in Gaydon, Warwickshire and saw all teams take part in a range of activities and challenges including Engineering Careers Speed Dating, JLR Coding Challenge and RS Components Titan-Truck filled with hands-on robotics and virtual reality experiments. 

Rush Racing Pit DisplayRGS had two team competing at the national finals: Team Relativity and Rush Racing, made up of four Sixth Form students. Both teams impressed the judges, which included Jaguar Land Rover graduate engineers and retired engineers, all of whom where keen to support and educate the students involved in the competition. 

Team Relativity stole the show with a number of judges heaping praise on them. As well as winning the Development Class, they were also nominated for Best Engineered Vehicle (in their class), the Innovative Thinking Award and the Pit Display Award. 

Rush Racing were nominated for the Judges' Recommendation Award, awarded to teams just outside of the top awards who have impressed the judges.

All of the students in both teams were awarded an Industrial Cadet Silver Award.

The success of both teams could not have been achieved without the fantastic support and backing of the EDT department and each of the teams' sponsors. 

Team Relativity
Alexander Waldron
Adam Fuery
Toby Green
Kush Makkapati
Dan Somerville Roberts

Rush Racing
Edward Atkinson
Christian Cooper
Matt Rush
Christopher Thomas