Careers and Higher Education

Here is a glimpse at what the Careers and Higher Education provision is like at the RGS

SENIOR SCHOOL

The careers programme in the Senior School aims to give students advice and guidance to help them make informed choices about future academic subjects, Higher Education options and careers.

In Years 7 and 8 students are introduced, during PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education) lessons to the concept of thinking ahead to formulate goals and ambitions.

In Year 9, following a presentation by the Director of Studies and the Head of Careers, there is a short individual interview for every student with the Form Supervisor to help them choose the right subjects to study at GCSE.

In Year 10, students complete the Morrisby Online diagnostic exercise, which is followed up in Year 11 with a more in-depth, individual interview, focusing on A level subject choice and possible higher education and career options. The interview report is added to the Morrisby Online profile for parents and students to read.

Year 11 students and parents attend an Options Evening in February to hear talks about A level subject options and university applications, as well as to discuss options with subject heads and RGS careers staff.

Year 11 and Sixth Form students are invited to an in-house Careers and Gap Year fair in September and there are various talks and visits arranged throughout each year.

View the annual programme in detail hereA copy of the work experience handbook can be found on the parent portal.  

SIXTH FORM

The careers programme in the Sixth Form aims to give students advice and guidance to help them make informed choices about future Higher Education options and potential careers.

In September, Sixth Form students are invited to an in-house Careers and Gap Year fair and there are various talks and visits arranged throughout the year. The Lower Sixth enrichment programme includes presentations by leading universities and the Head of Careers also gives various presentations to sixth formers and parents, including a major talk about the UCAS process in April of the Lower Sixth.

An emphasis is placed on individual guidance and all students are allocated a UCAS Referee in February of the Lower Sixth. The Referee acts as a mentor to the student throughout the Sixth Form, giving guidance about Higher Education and the whole UCAS application process (if they opt to apply to university). All students are invited to complete the Morrisby online diagnostic exercise which gives a steer on potential degree choices and provides a discussion item between the Referee and the student. There is also specialist guidance available for those students applying to study Medicine and those applying to Oxbridge, including practice interviews. Advice on making applications to overseas universities is also available.

View the annual programme in detail here

Careers Calendar

January 2022
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat/Sun
Mon, Dec 27
Tue, Dec 28
Wed, Dec 29
Thu, Dec 30
Fri, Dec 31
Sat, Jan 1
Sun, Jan 2
Mon, Jan 3
Tue, Jan 4
Wed, Jan 5
Thu, Jan 6
Fri, Jan 7
Sat, Jan 8
Sun, Jan 9
Mon, Jan 10
Year 11 A-Level Choices Assembly
-
Miller Theatre P101
Tue, Jan 11
L6 Sept New Entrants' Morrisby Assessment
-
IT Rooms tbc
Wed, Jan 12
Thu, Jan 13
Y9 GCSE Subject and Career Choice Assembly
-
Miller Theatre P101
Fri, Jan 14
Sat, Jan 15
Sun, Jan 16
Tue, Jan 18
Wed, Jan 19
Fri, Jan 21
Sat, Jan 22
Sun, Jan 23
Mon, Jan 24
U6 UCAS Update Assembly
-
Miller Theatre P101
A Star Future
-
Zoom
Tue, Jan 25
Thu, Jan 27
Fri, Jan 28
Sat, Jan 29
Sun, Jan 30
Wed, Feb 2
Thu, Feb 3
Fri, Feb 4
Sat, Feb 5
Sun, Feb 6