Careers and Higher Education

SENIOR SCHOOL

The careers programme in the Senior School aims to give students advice and guidance to help them make informed choices about future academic subjects, Higher Education options and careers.

In Years 7 and 8 students are introduced, during PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education) lessons to the concept of thinking ahead to formulate goals and ambitions.

In Year 9, following a presentation by the Director of Studies and the Head of Careers, there is a short individual interview for every student with the Form Supervisor to help them choose the right subjects to study at GCSE.

In Year 10, students complete the Morrisby Online diagnostic exercise, which is followed up in Year 11 with a more in-depth, individual interview, focusing on A level subject choice and possible higher education and career options. The interview report is added to the Morrisby Online profile for parents and students to read.

Year 11 students and parents attend an Options Evening in February to hear talks about A level subject options and university applications, as well as to discuss options with subject heads and RGS careers staff.

Year 11 and Sixth Form students are invited to an in-house Careers and Gap Year fair in September and there are various talks and visits arranged throughout each year.

SIXTH FORM

The careers programme in the Sixth Form aims to give students advice and guidance to help them make informed choices about future Higher Education options and potential careers.

In September, Sixth Form students are invited to an in-house Careers and Gap Year fair and there are various talks and visits arranged throughout the year. The Lower Sixth enrichment programme includes presentations by leading universities and the Head of Careers also gives various presentations to sixth formers and parents, including a major talk about the UCAS process in April of the Lower Sixth.

An emphasis is placed on individual guidance and all students are allocated a UCAS Referee in February of the Lower Sixth. The Referee acts as a mentor to the student throughout the Sixth Form, giving guidance about Higher Education and the whole UCAS application process (if they opt to apply to university). All students are invited to complete the Morrisby online diagnostic exercise which gives a steer on potential degree choices and provides a discussion item between the Referee and the student. There is also specialist guidance available for those students applying to study Medicine and those applying to Oxbridge, including practice interviews. Advice on making applications to overseas universities is also available.

Careers Calendar

December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat/Sun
Mon, Nov 30
Tue, Dec 1
Wed, Dec 2
Thu, Dec 3
Fri, Dec 4
Sat, Dec 5
Medicine Virtual Career Day (Y10-U6)
-
Online
Psychology Virtual Career Day (Y10-U6)
-
Online
Sun, Dec 6
Mon, Dec 7
Tue, Dec 8
Wed, Dec 9
Thu, Dec 10
Fri, Dec 11
Sat, Dec 12
Aviation Virtual Career Day (Y10-U6)
-
Online
Sun, Dec 13
Mon, Dec 14
Tue, Dec 15
Wed, Dec 16
Thu, Dec 17
Fri, Dec 18
Sat, Dec 19
Business Virtual Career Day (Y10-U6)
-
Online
Sun, Dec 20
Mon, Dec 21
Tue, Dec 22
Wed, Dec 23
Thu, Dec 24
Fri, Dec 25
Sat, Dec 26
Sun, Dec 27
Mon, Dec 28
Tue, Dec 29
Wed, Dec 30
Thu, Dec 31
Fri, Jan 1
Sat, Jan 2
Sun, Jan 3